An Entirely Unscientific Life Theory in which I Leave the Door Slightly Ajar

For a long time, I’ve held the entirely unscientifically tested theory that every three to four years something comes along and shakes me from my foundations. Some of these things are naturally occurring disasters … and delights. Birth, death, illness, wellness. That sort of thing.

And some of them are self-inflicted, for better or worse. Marriage, divorce, job changes etc. You know, those *simple* things.

Well, not for nothing did my word for the year turn out to be ‘new’. It would seem that I am due another self-inflicted occurrence for I am in the process of a new Big Something.

After 10 years working where I currently do, I’m off to a Big City for a bigger role and a bigger future than I thought possible twelve months ago.

It’s scary and exhilarating. Terrifying and terrific. At the end of May I will wave goodbye to a team I have known for many years. This place has been where I’ve grown, adapted, survived. Even thrived. And we’ve weathered all the life changes above together. They have been the best team; and, as always with the people you love, I shall miss them terribly.

But. I am so ready for this change.

I think I am ready to let this blog go now too. It may reappear in another incarnation several months down the line when things have settled and I’ve made the transition to city life. Maybe by then I’ll have learned to be more comfortable in heels than wellies, to carry a little (or large) handbag balanced in the crook of one arm whilst sipping on an espresso, to resemble a graceful person rather than an over-enthusiastic puppy.

Somehow I doubt it. And somehow I doubt it will matter.

4 thoughts on “An Entirely Unscientific Life Theory in which I Leave the Door Slightly Ajar

Add yours

  1. Can’t tell you what a delight it has been, working with you over the last twelve months. I am really looking forward to watching you blossom. And there’s plenty of builder’s tea on hand if you don’t fancy the espresso!
    J

    1. Thank you so much for the lovely comment! It’s been a delight working with you too and I can’t wait for my new challenges. Builders tea will do me just fine!

    1. Thank you very much! Don’t worry, I shall still be following your blog: can’t miss hearing what the 3-legged monster cat has been up to! Xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

